Enough

I am learning to say enough.

When chattering calories surface, I say enough. When I crave another handful of chocolate chips, I say enough. When I am walking through a store and start gathering odds and doodads, I put them back and say, I have enough. When I feel overwhelmed by college looming on the horizon, I say, I am enough because Jesus is more than enough.

Enough is not a bald desert, it’s a content simplicity. I am not hungry, so I will not eat the rest of my apple. I am hungry, so I will eat a brownie. I need a coat, so I will buy a snazzy maroon pea coat at a thrift store. I don’t need a car, so I won’t buy one.  I watched a movie yesterday, so I won’t watch a movie today.

As I say enough, I clear space in my life for what really matters – bringing God glory and enjoying him forever.

But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me. – Psalm 131:2

What do you think? Have you learned to say “enough?” Tell me in the comments!
2 thoughts on “Enough

  1. I wish I had the wilpower to say enough. I always go above and beyond what is necessary. I will learn “enough,” though.

    • In some situations, going above and beyond is wonderful and healthy. But watch your heart. When you fly high, do you become anxious, obsessive, and compulsive? Or are you delighting in the heights and finding more patience, more joy, and more self-control? That’s a good measure of whether your reaching is healthy or not.

      It’s not just about willpower. It’s also about wantpower. When I have the opportunity to binge, I can pit will against want, or I can use the strength of my want. I want to binge, but I also want to glorify God, stay healthy, be clear-minded, recover from bulimia. When I focus on that vision, it’s easier to let the food go.

      Blessings and peace to you!

Join the conversation!

